Mission Statement:
We are committed to giving our member-owners the most reliable, cost-effective service possible. 

Our Vision:
To seek the highest level of member satisfaction while improving the quality of
life for our members, our employees, and our communities.

Western Illinois Electrical Coop. is a member-owned electrical cooperative based in Carthage, Illinois. Organized in 1938, WIEC was established to bring the convenience of electricity to the rural areas of Hancock and Henderson Counties. (The service territory now includes portions of Adams and McDonough Counties as well.) Since that time, we have been committed to providing our members (around 3600 currently) the best, most reliable electric and customer service possible

There are  7 Cooperative Principles that guide cooperatives and date back to 1844. These principles are the key reason WIEC operates differently from investor-owned electric utilities.    One of the principles is that we are owned by those we serve. The members choose who represents them. WIEC is governed by a seven-member board of directors, who are each elected to a three-year staggered term. For a map of our service territory and the director elected from each district, click here.

The directors are elected by the members at our Annual Meeting, which is usually held on the fourth Thursday in June.

Board Members

  • District 1 – Kim Gullberg, Stronghurst – Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
  • District 2 – Dustin Walker, Burnside
  • District 3 – Jay Morrison, Niota
  • District 4 – Kent Flesner, West Point -President
  • District 5 – Mark Burling, Carthage – Vice President
  • District 6 – Rob Gronewold, Carthage
  • District 7 – Janet Spory, Sutter – Secretary-Treasurer


  • Todd Grotts – General Manager
  • Ryan Biery – Manager of Operations
  • Wendi Whitaker -Chief Financial Officer 
  • Cody Grainger – Area Service Technician
  • Eric Johnson –  Line Foreperson
  • Andy Lafeber – Crew Foreperson
  • Karmen Metternich – Billing Coordinator
  • David Peer – Staking Clerk/Material Handler
  • Mitchell Reed – Mechanic/Groundworker
  • Tim Shumate – Journeyman Lineworker
  • Mandy Steinkamp – Administrative Professional
  • Kyle Tanner – Apprentice Lineworker
  • Dustin Waddell – Apprentice Lineworker