2018 IEC Memorial Scholarship Enrollment

Western Illinois Electrical Cooperative has announced that the Illinois electric cooperatives in 2018 will award ten academic scholarships to high school seniors through a memorial scholarship fund designed to financially assist deserving students in the “electric cooperative family.”


2016 Scholarship Winner, Carly Garnett

In addition, a tenth scholarship – to assist with costs in attending an electric line-worker school – will also be offered.

The total of ten scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded in 2017 through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Five scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member receiving service from the cooperative. A sixth scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee. Three additional scholarships are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college who are the sons or daughters of Illinois electric cooperative members, employees or directors.  Applications are submitted online   and are due by December 31, 2017.

The tenth annual scholarship, the “LaVern and Nola McEntire Line-worker’s Scholarship,” will help pay for costs to attend the line-worker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill.  Applications  are submitted online are due by April 30, 2018.

                 For more information regarding the scholarships, contact Becky Dickinson at 800-576-3125 or 217-357-3125. All necessary paperwork has also been sent to area high school guidance counselors.  Applications are to be submitted on line here.